Wausau, WI – Over the past few weeks State Park Speedway received national recognition as Ron and Scott Wimmer and State Park Speedway were nominated for awards throughout the country.
Ron and Scott are one of six nominees for the annual Auto Racing Promoter of the Year Award given out by Racing Promotions Monthly. This award is one of the most prestigious in the industry and voted on by promoters throughout the country. “It is a real honor to be nominated for such an award,” says State Park Speedway Owner Ron Wimmer, “This award has been given out since 1976 and to be the nomination for the Northern region is very special and humbling.”

 The winner of the Auto Racing Promoter of the Year will be announced February 17th in Daytona, FL.

Every year, the top racing website in the country, hands out its 51 Awards sponsors by JEGS. Fans are able to vote for the winners and this year State Park Speedway brought home three third place awards.

Ron and Scott Wimmer received third place for best promoter, State Park Speedway received third place in the best short tract category and State Park Speedway announcers Andrew Bartelt and Curt Keene received third spot for best short track announcer.

“The 51 Awards receive literally thousands of votes,” says State Park Speedway Owner Scott Wimmer, “To finish in the top three of these categories not just says something about State Park Speedway, but also our awesome fans who went out and voted for us every day. A huge thanks to them.”

The countdown is on to race season with the State Park Speedway opener set for Saturday, May 17th when the ARCA Midwest Tour comes to town.



Season Opener

4:00pm Qualifying
6:00pm Racing Begins