Brock Heinrich is the defending champion in the Budweiser Fabiano Brothers Limited Late Model division, and he also picked up where he left off last season.

Heinrich visited Brickner Family Auto Group Victory Lane after winning the 20-lap feature in the Limited Late Models, fending off challenges from Travis Volm and Mitch Stankowski in the closing stages to pick up the win.

Heinrich took the lead from Dillon Mackesy on lap six and led the rest of the way, weathering a trio of late race restars. The Wausau driver, who won his first track championship a year ago, powered past Volm on the first two restarts, and then pulled away a third time from Stankowski, who gave it a try on the outside after the second-place Volm chose to start behind the leader on the last restart with two laps left.

Chad Dietsche unveiled a slick-looking new paint job for his ride in the Advance Auto Parts Pure Stocks class, and he showed some muscle in winning the 25-lap feature.

Dietsche chased down Alex Volm quickly after a lap 15 restart, made the pass with five laps left and pulled away to win. Dietsche was fourth on the restart and initially stuck there as Volm appeared ready to leave the field well behind, but he worked through traffic quickly and won going away. 

Edgar’s Mike Heidmann won the 20-lap main in the Snap-on Mini Mods division. Heidmann moved up quickly from the eighth starting position, passed Jimmer Lietz on lap eight and held off George Seliger by six car lengths to win.

Garret Strachota also began his season in the Motors Service & Supply Mini Stocks in fine fashion. The 2017 champion in the division opened with a clean sweep including fast time, a heat win and then the feature as he rebuffed the challenges of rookie Nathan Steif ton win the 15-lap main. Strachota took the lead from Steif seven laps in and went on to victory even as Steif hung tough on the outside and challenged in the closing laps.

Racing continues at State Park Speedway for a second consecutive Saturday, May 19, when the ARCA Midwest Tour late model series visits for the Cabin Fever 100. Limited late models, pure stocks, mini mods, mini stocks and bandoleros also will be in action, with pit gates opening at 2:30 p.m., fan gates open at 3:30 p.m., qualifying starting at 5 p.m. and racing to follow at 6 p.m.


Budweiser Fabiano Brothers Limited Late Models
Fast Qualifier: Travis Volm, Mosinee, 14.434 sec.
Heat: Dillon Mackesy, Athens; Mitch Stankowski, Wausau; Brock Heinrich, Wausau; Volm; Jared Duda, St. Michael, Minn.
Feature: Heinrich; Volm; Stankowski; Duda; Mackesy; Allen Borntrager, Elroy; Hanna Raley, Fall River; Rayce Haase, Wausau

Advance Auto Parts Pure Stocks
Fast Qualifier: Chad Dietsche, Hatley, 15.200 sec.
Heat: Kolton Guralski, Wausau; Nick Oxborough, Savage, Minn.; Brian Schramm, Wausau; Alex Volm, Mosinee; Nick Grish, Wausau
Feature: Dietsche; Volm; Jeff Spatz, Wausau; Carson Sillars, Wausau; Oxborough; Guralski; Grish; Dustin Ochodnicky, Ogema; Schramm

Snap-on Mini Mods
Fast Qualifier: Mike Heidmann, Edgar, 15.713 sec.
Heat: John Lietz, Mosinee; Dale Louze, Mosinee; Jim Lietz, Mosinee; Joe Kuehn, Wausau; George Seliger, Wausau
Feature: Heidmann; Seliger; Adam Eckes, Milladore; Kuehn; Jim Lietz; Louze; Greg Blount, Marathon; John Lietz; Dave Meyer, West Allis

Motors Service & Supply Mini Stocks
Fast Qualifier: Garrett Strachota, 16.545 sec.
First Heat: Tom Lecher, Wausau; Kyle Check, Shantytown; Kendra Baumann, Wausau; Ashley Schoone, Tomahawk; Amanda Rowe, Mosinee
Second Heat: Strachota; Nathan Steif, Wausau; Brett Breitenfeldt, Wausau; Kole Ferge, Wausau; Kevin Tessmer, Wausau
Feature: Strachota; Steif; Breitenfeldt; Ferge; Lecher; Check; Tessmer; Schoone; Baumann; Rowe

Ticket Prices
Adults (13 and up) - $20
Kids (6-12) - $10
5 and under - FREE



10:00am - ARCAMT Pits Open
12:30pm - Support Div. Pit Gates Open
3:30pm - Fan Gates Open
4:00pm - Fred Mueller Qualifying
6:00pm - Racing Begins