M.G. Gajewski finished the 2017 race season at State Park Speedway on a high note, and 2018 at the Wausau native’s home track is off to a good start, too.

Gajewski won the Pepsi 60 super late model feature, holding off hard-charging Luke Fenhaus to win the main and make his first trip of the year to Brickner Family Auto Group Victory Lane. The three-time track champion was one of three defending track champions to claim feature races on a cool but successful Saturday night opener for the ninth season of racing at the track under ownership by Ron and Scott Wimmer.

Gajewski took the lead from Fenhaus on a lap 31 restart in the Auto Select Super Late Model presented by C-Tech feature, getting a good jump and completing the pass on the outside on the backstretch. 

The veteran would go on to lead the rest of the way, but not without a significant challenge. Fenhaus remained in hot pursuit and in Gajewski’s tracks for all of the final 30 laps, even briefly making contact with the leader coming out of turn four on lap 43. Both cars kept their momentum, Gajewski kept the lead, and he continued to have an answer for every challenge and went on to win the spirited duel by two car lengths.

The 14-year old Fenhaus, in his first race in a super late model at the track, finished second and led 15 laps, going underneath Mike Olson for the lead on lap 16. Olson led from the pole for the first 15 laps, which was slowed by a caution on lap nine. A brief rain shower was enough to bring out the yellow flag, but the cars continued to circle the track under yellow and the race resumed just 10 minutes later after raindrops tapered off.

Racing continues at State Park Speedway for a second consecutive Saturday, May 19, when the ARCA Midwest Tour late model series visits for the Cabin Fever 100. Limited late models, pure stocks, mini mods, mini stocks and bandoleros also will be in action, with pit gates opening at 2:30 p.m., fan gates open at 3:30 p.m., qualifying starting at 5 p.m. and racing to follow at 6 p.m.


Auto Select Super Late Models pres. by C-Tech
Fast Qualifier: M.G. Gajewski, Wausau, 13.628 sec. 
Heat: Mike Olson, Dorchester; Luke Fenhaus, Wausau; Gajewski; Justin Mondeik, Gleason; Mark Mackesy, Wausau
Feature: Gajewski; Fenhaus; Olson; Mackesy; Jeremy Lepak, Wausau; Mondeik; Derek Doerr, Watertown

Ticket Prices
Adults (13 and up) - $20
Kids (6-12) - $10
5 and under - FREE



10:00am - ARCAMT Pits Open
12:30pm - Support Div. Pit Gates Open
3:30pm - Fan Gates Open
4:00pm - Fred Mueller Qualifying
6:00pm - Racing Begins