Wimmer Doubles Down at State Park Speedway
Volm Takes Sportsman Win
By: Brandon Aschenbrenner

The annual all you can eat corn night at State Park Speedway faced numerus challenges from mother nature early on and she provided some very humid conditions, which provided very little grip to most of the cars and trucks on the asphalt surface. It was also WCAR (Women Concerned for Auto Racing) Backpack night as they handed out backpacks to all of the kids in attendance. The Midwest Truck Series was back in town and their results and recap can be found on their website and on their Facebook page.

In the CWRA (Central Wisconsin Racing Association) Late Models, making their return to State Park Speedway as part of the touring series, weekly driver Brock Heinrich threw some ten inch tires on and took fast time in qualifying. There were no heats for the CWRA as they instead ran two features, tonight twenty-five laps a piece. In feature number one, Wayne Breitenfeldt and Frank Nitzke caught the invert and started on the front row. Breitenfeldt lead the first few laps with Jake Capek hot on his heels. After eight green flag laps, Capek decided it was time to go and he took the lead with the move to the inside of Breitenfeldt. As that was taking place, Mark Mackesy was on the move, using the high side of the race track to his advantage. At the half way point, Nitzke was able to settle into second, with Breitenfeldt being challenged for third by the twelve cars, Mackesy and Derrick VanDreel. Mackesy was able to again make the high side pay off and made his way up to third with only eight laps left. In the last three laps, Mackesy got the second spot from point leader Nitzke and Darek Gress made got his car up to fourth. Meanwhile Capek was able to conquer the field and pick up his first CWRA feature on the year with Mackesy finishing a strong second. Nitzke, Gress and Jeff Weinfurter rounded out the top five.
In feature number two, Heinrich and Weinfurter would pace the field and they put on a great show up front. Weinfurter eventually was able to take the lead. Mackesy, from his fifth place starting spot, made it to third about half way through. Monte Gress spun his car on the backstretch causing a yellow flag with thirteen laps to go. This caution, led to more as two laps later, Jeff Nowak spun in turn three. With seven laps left another yellow came out for Rachael Kallas, Mike Sievers and Monte Gress piled up in turn four. On the restart, Weinfurter and Mackesy would line up side by side and they raced hard until one last caution with Nowak and Sievers ended occurred. One final restart would see Mackesy and Heinrich on the front row. The veteran would prevail as Mackesy would pick up the win in feature number two. Heinrich held on to second in his first ever CWRA race. Weinfurter, Darek Gress and Derrick VanDreel finished top five.

The Budweiser/Fabiano Brothers Limited Late Models had Brock Heinrich get fast time. The heat race got really crazy and messy after a few laps in contact between Phil Malouf and Adam Peschek created a parking lot in turn one collecting Evan Call and Todd Handrick also. Malouf and Peschek’s car would not be able to return on the night. Heinrich was able to finish the heat in victory lane. In the feature, Heinrich again would make his way to the front and cruise to victory and his first clean sweep. Todd Handrick, without a nose on the car, Lyle Nowak, Call and Peschek, driving the Jeff Nowak car, finished out the top five. Heinrick chomped down Peschek’s point lead as Peschek is only ahead by ten points now.

The Ropa’s Pizza Pure Stocks saw Dillon Mackesy take fast time once again. Two heats would end with Anthony Lashua, for his second week in a row, and Chad Dietsche in victory lane. The feature showed some great racing all throughout the pack. Brandon Knoblock led the early portion of the race with Brian Schramm making it to second seven laps in. With sixteen laps left, Alex Volm spun out of turn 4 and yellow flew. The showdown was on from there as Knoblock was on the inside and Schramm on the outside. Great close side by side racing continued all the way down to the final lap which ended on the back stretch with Schramm sideways and collected Mackesy. That would allow Knoblock to make his way to victory lane for his first feature win on the year. Back to the last completed lap for the rest of the field then would show Travis Volm picking up second place with Mitch Stankowski, Jeff Spatz and Anthony Lashua all finishing in the top five. Travis Volm’s point lead is almost insurmountable now at 102 over Stankowski.

In the Snap-On Mini-Mods Greg Blount took quick time. In the heat race, George Seliger picked up the win. In the feature, it was pretty similar to the heat where John Lietz led the first laps until Seliger, who was running the top line, made a bold move to steal the inside away from Lietz. Seliger would carry on to the feature win. Blount would get up to second by the checkered flag with Jimmer Lietz taking third. John Lietz and Dale Louze rounded out the top five. Seliger increased his points lead to now thirty-one over Louze.

The Motors Service and Supply Mini-Stocks fast timer would be Robb Wruck with a blistering 15.822. Tom Lecher, now his third win in a row, and Ron Coppernoll, a first time visitor to State Park, made it to victory lane in the heat races. In the feature, the race started with a bang as contact between Brett Breitenfeldt and Lecher sent Breitenfeldt nose first into the front stretch wall with heavy force. Breitenfeldt would be unhurt, but the car was not so fortunate. On the restart, Wruck would take the lead and set sail cruising to victory. Kevin Tessmer would take second, Garret Strachota took third with Amanda Rowe fourth and Kendra Bauman fifth. Strachota has a fifty-nine point edge over Tessmer.

In the D&D Automotive Bandoleros Kole Guralski qualified fastest. Alex Hartwig and Karter Stark each won heat races. In the feature, and early caution occurred when Kaleb Winter spun in turn three and collected Hannah Wolfe ending their nights. Guralski however would make his way to the lead and fend off all challengers picking up the win by over a half of a second. Stark ran a great race to take second. Hartwig, Anna Malouf and Jevin Guralski rounded out the top five spots. Kole Guralski now has the point lead over Wolfe by only four points.

The next race at State Park Speedway is Thursday, Aug 17th. It will be the 8th annual Fighting Cancer Full Throttle night and WCAR Gifts from Heaven night with tons of kid’s bikes to give away. All divisions will be in action including the Central Wisconsin Steel Frame Challenge Series Pure Stocks. Gates open at 4:30, Qualifying at 6:00 and Racing at 7:00. Check out www.stateparkspeedway.com or the State Park Speedway Facebook page for more information.


3:00pm - Pit Gate Opens
4:30pm - Fan Gates Open
6:00pm - Fred Mueller Qualifying
7:00pm - Racing Begins

Ticket Prices
Adults (13 and up) - $12
Kids (6-12) - $5
5 and under - FREE