Nowak, Seliger, Strachota & Hartwig Score Big Wins on Thursday

Double memorial night would honor two wonderful individuals who influenced many racers and fan throughout their years. The Flip Merwin Memorial, originally scheduled for June 16th, and the Dave Lashua Memorial brought out tons of fans and drivers to show their support. It was announced that any driver in the pit area, who had been influenced by either of these two gentlemen, could bring their cars onto the track for opening ceremonies. The response was every single car in the pits made their way onto the track and proceeded to do two slow parade laps in honor of Flip and Dave. An extra special thanks goes out to the Flip Merwin and Dave Lashua families as both provided trophies to the winners in victory lane.

The Budweiser/Fabiano Brothers Limited Late Models had Brock Heinrich out for opening ceremonies. Jeff Nowak would hold on to the lead in the heat race without much of a challenge. The feature was almost a repeat as Nowak was able to lead the race and pull away early. Adam Peschek, who has been very fast all year, benefited from a mid-race slip by Phil Malouf, and Peschek started reeling in Nowak’s lead with the laps counting down. Peschek would find the bumper of Nowak with only a few laps left and tried to make a move up high, down low and every which way, but Nowak was having none of it and he held his ground and picked up his first Flip Merwin/Dave Lashua trophy. Peschek finished in second by less than one-tenth of a second. Heinrich, Lyle Nowak and Malouf would end up with top five finishes.

In the Snap-On Mini-Mods Adam Eckes was the fastest a few weeks ago. In the heat race, George Seliger laid notice to all that he was not messing around and he ran away with the win. In the feature, it was a replay of the heat for Seliger as he led early and no one got close to him. The best racing was on for second and back through the field. Notably Eckes, Dale Louze and Joe Kuehn found very hard for the top four. Eckes would prevail over Louze for second and third place with Kuehn holding off Mike Heidmann for fourth.

The Motors Service and Supply Mini-Stocks would find Garret Strachota being interviewed on the front stretch. Isiah Rowe and Robb Wruck would pocket heat wins. In the feature, Wruck was able to get to the front very quickly and was able to drive away from the field. Deeper in the pack some good hard racing was had for second on back. Eventually Strachota would clear traffic and run down Wruck, but ran out of laps as Wruck celebrated with a backflip from the passenger side door in victory lane for the first time this season. Strachota took the second position while Brett Breitenfeldt fought his way to third. Kevin Tessmer ended up in fourth and Isiah Rowe took the fifth spot.  However Wruck failed post race inspection and was disqualified from the night's race, giving the win to Strachota.

In the D&D Automotive Bandoleros Hannah Wolfe celebrated fast time from June 16th. Kolton Guralski looked won the heat race easily. The feature would see Alex Hartwig make the early move to the top side of Guralski and he would pick up the win. Kolton Guralski and Hannah Wolfe took podium positions respectfully. Jevin Guralski and Anna Malouf rounded out the top five.

The next race at State Park Speedway is Thursday, July 20th. It will be the Kid’s Night with the ever popular bike races and all of our great regular divisions in action. Gates open at 4:30, Qualifying at 6:00 and Racing at 7:00. Check out or the State Park Speedway Facebook page for more information.

3:30pm - Pit Gate Opens
4:30pm - Fan Gates Open
6:00pm - Fred Mueller Qualifying
7:00pm - Racing Begins
Ticket Prices
Adults (13 and up) - $12
12 and under - FREE